Okay, you want to give someone access to a calendar... but what level of access? Do you want them to read, write, edit, or have full permission?
Below is a breakdown of the different calendar permission levels. We recommend designating one person as the Owner (full permission) who can manage the calendar and have master control. Then we recommend that everyone else be in one of the lower four permission categories.
Sometimes one or two other staff can be assigned to the middle two categories to help manage the calendar. HOWEVER, the more staff with high level permissions you have, the more unneeded conflict and technical errors you might see.
|Permission Level||Description||Our Recommendations|
|Owner*||Grants FULL permission to the selected calendar. Only a user given Owner permissions can see appointments marked as Private (they will have the same permissions to your calendar that you have).||Typically a bad idea.|
|Publishing Editor*||Grants FULL permission to the calendar, but it does not change who "owns" the calendar. The granted user can do everything an Editor can, plus create subfolders.||Be careful when using this option (useful if other people need to organize your calendar)|
|Editor*||Grants FULL permission. The granted user can create, edit, and delete any appointments, and see the full details of all appointments.||Good for basic calendar sharing.|
|Publishing Author**||Similar to Publishing Editor, except the granted user cannot delete appointments or meetings you have created. The granted user can do everything an Author can, plus create subfolders.|
|Author**||Similar to Editor, except the granted user cannot delete appointments or meetings that you have created. The granted user can see appointment details, create, edit, and delete appointments they created.|
|Nonediting Author+||The granted user can create appointments/meetings but cannot edit anything. The granted user can see appointment details, and create and delete the appointments they created.|
|Reviewer+||The granted user can see everything related to an appointment (except a private one) and see folders, but not subfolders.|
|Contributor+||The granted user can create appointments on your calendar, but cannot see details of existing appointments.|
|None+||The user has no permissions - they cannot see any information related to your calendar.||This is why the Default user is setup with the Permission Level: None.|
|Free/Busy time+||The person can see when you're free or busy.|
|Free/Busy time, subject, location+||The person can see the time, subject, and location of your appointments.|
*FULL permission means the user can Read, Edit, and Delete appointments/meetings. Use these FULL permissions with caution.
**Allows the granted person to edit/delete only the appointments/meetings they have created.
+Minimal access granted to the calendar.
If you want to give users access to your calendar yourself, see these instructions here.