Your calendar has a Default permission applied to it - typically this permission is set to "Free/Busy" (people can't see details, but can see blocks when you are busy/tentative/free) or "Reviewer" (people can see details, but can't edit).
You can then add additional permissions per user (example: Ron Swanson can have Editor access while everyone else has the Default permission of Free/Busy).
Why would I want to do this / How do I do this?
We wouldn't recommend changing the Default permission to anything beyond Reviewer or Free/Busy, but if you want to give everyone in your organization access to view your calendar details for scheduling purposes*, you could change the Default permissions to Reviewer. Here's how:
- Navigate to your calendar.
- With your calendar selected, in the Home ribbon, click Calendar Permissions.
- Click Default in the Name column to select it, then adjust the Permission Level below by selecting the desired permission level from the drop-down menu (in our example, we would want to change it from Free/Busy time to Reviewer or, alternatively, Free/Busy time, subject, location). You can also make additional adjustments using the other options displayed (the options will change depending on which Permission Level is selected).
- Click OK.
*Example: Let's say executive assistant Ron Swanson has Editor access to your calendar, but your calendar's Default permission is set to Free/Busy. If Ron Swanson uses the Scheduling Assistant to schedule meetings with you, he will still only be able to see your Free/Busy times, no details. Unfortunately Scheduling Assistant only uses the Default permissions, not additional individual permissions.