You might have questions like these and more:
- How do I submit a request for a user termination to HR?
- What will happen to the terminated user's data? How can I get access to it?
- What happens if someone calls their number?
Your HR department will know how to submit the correct account termination form to the Help Desk. Important options for you to know about:
- Out of office reply
- Email forwarding
- Mailbox access
- User's files
- Call forwarding
Scenario: John has left the organization, so HR sends a request to the Help Desk to close John's account. Dana is John's former supervisor, and so she needs to receive all of John's data - but what does that mean?
Out of Office Reply
Note: Terminated email accounts are automatically deleted after 6 months.
When HR requests an out of office reply for the user, they give us the out of office reply to use and request that John have that Out of Office / Automatic Response (you can request a specific time limit - usually we see 3 months).
The out of office reply might be something like, "John is no longer with the organization. Please contact Dana at email@example.com."
When the time's up, we finalize closing John's account and add his email as an alias to Dana's email.
What is an email alias?
That just means that Dana will receive any emails that are sent to John's former email, as if they were sent to her email. No one will get an auto responder message when they send an email to John's email at that point.
(If Dana doesn't want John's alias on her account anymore, she can simply open a Help Desk ticket to get it removed.)
HR can request that John's email be forwarded to Dana. We set John's email to forward to Dana and then after 3 months, we add John's email as an alias to Dana's account.
We no longer manually move a terminated account's emails to another account. Instead, we can grant Dana (and any additional specified staff members) access to John's mailbox for 6 months. John's mailbox will show up as a secondary mailbox for Dana in Outlook. This gives Dana adequate time to copy what is needed from John's mailbox to her own mailbox. At the end of 6 months, we send a warning follow-up email, then we finally delete the account soon after that.
User's files transfer
If requested, we go to the server, find John's personal folder (usually called the S drive), and copy it over to Dana's personal folder. If not, it just gets deleted.
If John had any OneDrive files, we grant Dana access to John's OneDrive for 6 months. This gives Dana adequate time to copy what is needed from John's OneDrive to her own OneDrive. At the end of 6 months, we send a warning follow-up email, then we finally delete the OneDrive soon after that.
If HR requests that John's calls get forwarded to Dana, we can make that happen. Once we set it up, any calls made to John's former phone number will get redirected to Dana's assigned phone number. Just know that only one call forward per account can be set up at a time.
Please note that we can only set up call forwarding - we cannot set up a special voicemail message or forward voicemails only.